XLI Annual Scientific Conference
Web Conference, 2-4 September 2020

Regions between challenges and unexpected opportunities

digitization 5140055 1920 ter


The conference scheduled at the University of Salento has been postponed to 1-3 September 2021. For this year, the Board decided to organize an online conference titled:

Regions between challenges and unexpected opportunities

that will be hosted on the web platform of the University Roma Tre. The website of the conference is available at: WEB CONFERENCE 2020 - WEBSITE.


The conference will be open to those who sent an abstract for the traditional conference scheduled in Lecce, and to those interested in attending as a listener (non-presenting attendee). The web conference will be held on September 2-4, 2020 and will be arranged, as usual, in plenary sessions, spontaneous sessions and organized sessions.


The plenary sessions are planned as follows:

Regions and the health emergency: challenges and opportunities


Spatial temporal trends in Italian pandemia. Giuseppe Arbia, Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore

Central and Eastern Europe after Covid-19: Challenges and opportunities in a different global economy. Richard Grieveson, WiiW - The Vienna Institute for International Economic Studies

Territorial Impact of Covid Crisis. Monitoring and evaluation Tools to Support better design of Policies. Andrea Conte, Joint Research Centre European Commission

Chair: Roberta Capello – AISRe President


Networks Varieties and Regional Economic Impacts of Shocks in Europe

Lectio Magistralis SR of Frank Van Oort, Erasmus University Rotterdam

Chair: Laura Resmini – RS Director


Regionalisation of the sustainable development strategy


The national and regional sustainable development strategy. Mara Cossu, Ministry of the Environment

Interconnections and measures national and territorial statistics for the Sustainable Development Strategy. Angela Ferruzza, ISTAT

Scenarios and actions for a sustainable future. Enrico Giovannini,  President of ASVIS, University of Roma Tor Vergata

Chair: Fiorenzo Ferlaino – IRES Piemonte


Great Minds in Regional Science


André Torre, ERSA President: François Perroux and Regional Science

Hans Westlund, Past-president Regional Science Academy: Gunnar Myrdal and Regional Science

Roberto Camagni, Past President ERSA: Adam Smith and Regional Science

Chair: Peter Batey, University of Liverpool


The program also includes a session of young scholars dedicated to the award of the winners of the Leonardi and GSSI Awards, the poster session, and the traditional assembly of members.

We trust in your participation to keep alive the collaboration and the scientific debate in the Aisre.



To present a contribution and to be included in the program, only the registration to the Association (certified as registration to the conference 2020 for individual members) is required. The registration must be paid by June 20, 2020.

Non-presenting attendees can register until July 20, 2020



May 22th, 2020 - Young Researcher Best Paper Award deadline
May 31th, 2020 - Abstract submission deadline for Special Call on COVID 19 and territorial impact
May 20-June 20th, 2020 - Registration
July 20, 2020 - Registration deadline for non-presenting attendees
July 20, 2020 - Papers/posters submission


To promote the dissemination of Regional Science among young scholars, AISRe will assign the following awards:

  • Ph.D. Dissertation Awards;
  • Award for the best paper presented by a young scholar (in collaboration with GSSI);
  • Award for the best poster.

Applications and related instructions are published with a special call available on www.aisre.it, in the Awards section (https://www.aisre.it/en/awards/aisre-awards).



Cristina Bernini - Università degli Studi di Bologna
Roberta Capello - Politecnico di Milano
Marusca De Castris - Università degli Studi Roma Tre
Alessandra Faggian - Gran Sasso Science Institute
Laura Fregolent - Università IUAV di Venezia
Patrizia Lattarulo - IRPET
Ilaria Mariotti – Politecnico di Milano
Rosanna Nisticò - Università della Calabria
Andrea Omizzolo - EURAC
Guido Pellegrini – Sapienza Università di Roma
Giovanni Perucca – Politecnico di Milano
Davide Piacentino – Università degli Studi di Palermo
Vincenzo Provenzano – Università degli Studi di Palermo
Elena Ragazzi - IRCrES – CNR
Francesca Silvia Rota - IRCrES – CNR
Domenico Scalera – Università degli Studi del Sannio
Annalisa Caloffi – Università degli Studi di Firenze
Silvia Cerisola – Politecnico di Milano
Carlo Ciccarelli – Università di Roma Tor Vergata


Technical Secretary A.I.S.Re
Diana Sarmiento, Silvia Emili, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.